Mt. Hood/Portland Golf Courses
The Very Beginning
Through tales of volcanic eruptions, Indian legend, the age of explorers, and the discovery of the Oregon Trail and pioneer days, it wasn’t until 1882 that Welches, Oregon actually came to be. And 1893 when the very first version of what is now The Resort at The Mountain was built! And it was in 1928 when two golfing enthusiasts – Ralph Shattuck and George Waale leased Billy Welch’s hayfield and built a nine-hole golf course, making Welches the home of the first Oregon golf resort. It was then known as The Mt. Hood Golf Course and offered golfers the opportunity to play in an unusually picturesque natural atmosphere. In 1939 the golf course reverted back to Billy who continued to operate it and the resort until his death in 1942.
Billy’s wife sold the property and it was run by several parties until 1948 when Eugene Bowman acquired it. Eugene and his wife Peggy owned Bowman’s for the next 30 years, adding another nine holes of golf, a pool, a sauna, condominiums, and more guest suites. Bowman’s resort was situated on the east side of the present day resort. The tradition of hospitality begun by the Welches was continued on by the Bowmans and enticed not only golfers but food lovers as well.
Rippling River Resort
In 1973 American Guaranty Financial Corporation purchased land across Welches Road from Bowman’s and built a lodge, a conference facility, a restaurant, more rental units and a third nine hole golf course. In 1979 it purchased Bowman’s Resort, merging the two properties and naming it Rippling River Resort.
The Resort at The Mountain
Ed and Janice Hopper bought the resort in 1989 and transformed it into The Resort at The Mountain. With their remodeling efforts came a Scottish theme and tradition. With The Resort’s sale in December, 2007 the latest chapter in its lodging and golfing legacy has begun.